The Board

The Board

The Childhood Cancer Association is a not for profit incorporated association supporting children with cancer, and their families.

There are 10 board members elected by the members of the association at the Annual General Meeting. Board members serve a period of two years.

The Board brings a wide range of business and commercial skills to the Childhood Cancer Association. The day to day management of the Association is the responsibility of Cath O'Loughlin, Chief Executive Officer.

Board Members

Chris Hartley - President

Chris was appointed to the Board in 2008, appointed Vice President in 2009 and President in 2010. Chris is currently the Sales Director at Proviso, a Software Development Company focusing on the financial services sector. He is also a Director and co-founder of HC Mobile Communications, a Telco company working with Small to Medium business.

Chris has senior management experience with Telecommunications and national retail and wholesale distribution organisations.

Chris has a son who was diagnosed with cancer in 2007 and relapsed in 2014. He joined the board with a desire to help support children and other families going through the same journey.


Ben Mead - Vice President

Ben is the current Managing Director of the Holidays of Australia Group of Companies in Adelaide. 

He holds a Bachelor of Urban and Regional Planning (Hon) from the University of South Australia and has extensive board experience including Junior and Senior Vice President of the UDIA (SA) from 2002-2006 as well as being a current Board Member for the Glenelg Community Hospital Inc.  

Ben is married with 3 young children, and knows first-hand the value of the services provided by the Association, having received ongoing support since his daughter’s diagnosis of cancer in 2014.   


Stuart Brown – Acting Treasurer

Stuart is a Director at Bartons, leading the Financial Services division. Stuart has over 25 years accounting, financial advisory and lending experience.

Stuart completed his accounting degree at the University of SA, becoming a CPA and then went on to gain a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and investment with FINSIA, before moving into the wealth management industry.

In 1997 Stuart established his own Financial Planning Firm in Sydney specialising in wealth creation, retirement planning and lending, and in 2007 Stuart joined Bartons as a director, where he was responsible for establishing the Financial Services Division.

Stuart lives locally to Bartons and he is actively involved in the Immanuel Primary School community, both on the school council and as a member of the Margaret Ames fundraising committee for the Immanuel College new senior school facility.  Stuart is an avid runner having previously completed in Marathons and has now also added the Sydney City to Surf to his running achievements.


Katie Bridges - Secretary

Katie Bridges has had a career in Adelaide media for some 15 years with brands such as SAFM and Triple M and more recently with NOVA Entertainments Nova and FIVEaa brands. As a Sales Director she has led some dynamic teams, some of which have been awarded Sales teams of the year with the Southern Cross Austereo Network and B & T.

Katie specializes in people management, radio media buying and innovative sales strategies. Katie also spent 2 years as the CEO of The Little Heroes Foundation in 2012-13 where she helped to develop their brand and fundraising potential.

She is a mother of two young children, has a degree in Psychology and is passionate about the childhood cancer sector in Adelaide.


Andrew Cassetti – Board Member

Andrew Cassetti has worked as a Business Analyst for the past 8 years at Optus, after graduating from the University of Adelaide with a Bachelor of Commerce.

Andrew lost over 45kgs between 2009 and 2010 and served three years (2012-2014) on the Board of the South Australian Road Runners Club, the last two as President.

Andrew has one young daughter and is extremely passionate about the support and services provided by the Childhood Cancer Association. Having lost both parents to cancer he feels very strongly about doing all that he can to support families during such a difficult time.


Sean Connors - Board Member

Sean is the National Sales Manager for The Fotobase Group and has had a varied career in the banking, motor vehicle and real estate industries, as well as holding the position of CEO at the Little Heroes Foundation in 2016-17.

He is a sporting enthusiast, a Director at the Woodville West Torrens Football Club and was even a trainee golf professional in the early 80s.

Sean continues to be impressed by the work of the Childhood Cancer Association and the support it provides to more than 400 families and is passionate about using his networks to help make a difference.


Glenn Hordacre - Board Member

Glenn Hordacre is the Managing Director of Alexander Symonds and as one of Australia’s most experienced licensed surveyors is responsible for all of the company’s projects and 85+ staff across offices in SA and Victoria.

With a Bachelor of Applied Science in Surveying and a Graduate Diploma in Spatial Information Systems, Glenn has developed extensive expertise in all areas of surveying including cadastral, infrastructure, mining and engineering surveys, CAD drafting and application of new technologies at an operational and management level during his 30 year career.

Glenn is married with 2 children and understands the impact that cancer can have on a family having lost his mother in his early 20’s to cancer. Cancer returned to his family when his eldest son was diagnosed with cancer in 2012. The Childhood Cancer Association continue to provide support services following his sons successful treatment. 


Cath O’Loughlin  - Board Member

Cath was appointed the CEO of the Childhood Cancer Association in 2009 and is also a long term board member of the Association. Cath has extensive senior management experience in both the public and private sector, including 15 years practising as a solicitor.  Cath has a Bachelor of Law and an MBA. She is very passionate about supporting children with cancer, and their families.



Anthony Pope - Board Member

Anthony has extensive experience in financial markets having worked as an advisor for over 15 years, both in Adelaide and Sydney.  He has a Bachelor of Accounting and is currently a private client advisor at Patersons Wealth Management.  Anthony has been a board member since March 2013 and is also on the finance sub-committee.


Past Board Members
  • Mr Andrew Dunbar
  • Mr Paul Anderson
  • Mr Phil Rutter
  • Mr Vaughn Eaton
  • Mr Kent Davis
  • Ms Leanne Thomas
  • Mr Rod Jameson
  • Ms Symoane Mercurio
  • Mr David Murada
  • Mr John Keeves
  • Ms Samatha Scott
  • Mr Neil Walker
  • Mr Michael Shillabeer
  • Mr Michael Bagshaw
  • Mr Jon Court
  • Mr Chris Powell

About Us

If you or your family require assistance please contact us today!

Contact Childhood Cancer Association
» Contact us via email
» Or phone us on (08) 8239 1444

Help us make a difference today!

The Childhood Cancer Association is a fully self-funded organisation and therefore relies on the generous support of the community.

Childhood cancer presents many challenges for the child and their family. It affects not only the child but their brothers and sisters, parents, grandparents, friends and the whole community.

The Childhood Cancer Association provides support to the entire family.

Please help us make the cancer journey easier for these families!